Hacienda La Puente Unified School District

  • Hacienda La Puente Unified High School Student-Athletes Triumph at Annual LA Marathon

    La Puente High School's dynamic running group, LP Runs LA, showcased their grit and determination at the 39th Annual Los Angeles Marathon on March 17, which saw 19 student-athletes and four teachers put their year-long training to the test as they tackled the grueling 26.2-mile course among a crowd of approximately 25,000 racers. La Puente High School educators, club advisors, and avid runners Ana Benitez and Wesley Perez said they started LP Runs LA in 2015 aiming to bring the many health and socio-emotional benefits of running to the students and staff of La Puente. This year marked LP Runs LA's seventh race, with three runners earning an LA Loyal pin for completing the journey around some of the city’s most notable landmarks for the second time.

    Read More

  • Glen A. Wilson High School Named California Distinguished School for Accelerated Academic Growth

    Glen A. Wilson High School has been named a 2024 California Distinguished School by the California Department of Education (CDE), recognizing the Hacienda La Puente Unified school for demonstrating exceptional student performance and achieving accelerated academic growth for one or more historically underserved student groups. Glen A. Wilson High is one of just 293 secondary schools honored in 2024. To be selected, the CDE used multiple measures to identify eligible schools based on their performance on the state indicators specified in the 2023 California School Dashboard.

    Read More

  • Four Hacienda La Puente Unified Middle Schools Recognized as 2024 Schools to Watch

    Cedarlane Academy, Fairgrove Academy, Mesa Robles School, and Valinda School of Academics have been named 2024 Schools to Watch by the California Department of Education (CDE) and the California League of Educators, recognizing their continued success in keeping students engaged through a critical stage in their K-12 educational journey, demonstrating social equity and helping them achieve academic excellence. The four campuses are among 16 schools to be newly designated as Schools to Watch and will be honored alongside 36 re-designated model schools at the annual California League of Schools Conference held March 8-9 in Monterey.

    Read More