WHITTIER – Rio Hondo College’s Board of Trustees named Madeline Shapiro as president for 2018, Vicky Santana as vice president and Mary Ann Pacheco as clerk during the group’s annual reorganization meeting on Dec. 13. Trustee Pacheco will also serve as the board representative for the L.A. County School District Organization and the L.A. County Schools Trustee Association.

“As we begin this new year, Rio Hondo College is redoubling its efforts to ensure every student succeeds in achieving college success,” Shapiro said. “We provide an incredible array of student support services, a growing plate of academic disciplines and exemplary career technical training in a host of high-demand fields.”

Shapiro was most recently re-elected in 2013 and represents Trustee Area 5, which includes East Whittier. She served as clerk in 2016 and as vice president in 2017. Santana, who was elected to her second term in 2015, represents Trustee Area 2, which includes Pico Rivera. Pacheco, elected to her first term in 2013, represents Trustee Area 3, which encompasses Whittier and South El Monte.

The board includes outgoing president Norma Edith Garcia, whose Trustee Area 1 includes El Monte, and Gary Mendez, whose Trustee Area 4 spans Los Nietos, Santa Fe Springs, South Whittier and North Norwalk.

Superintendent/President Teresa Dreyfuss congratulated the new officers.

“Together, we are forging a stronger future for our community,” Dreyfuss said.

Shapiro recognized Garcia for her dedication and service as board president.

“Norma guided us with a steady hand as we reaffirmed our support for underrepresented students, created programs to strengthen preparation for academic challenges, added a safety net to combat food insecurity, and expanded our academic and career technical programs into new arenas,” Shapiro said. “Her service stands as a model for us all.”