WHITTIER – The Whittier Union High School District Board of Trustees at its Feb. 19 meeting adopted a final trustee map – NDC Green – and sequence of elections as it prepares to transition from at-large elections to by-trustee area elections beginning in November 2020.

The Board made its decision following hundreds of comments taken during several community open houses, feedback submitted on the District Formation website and input provided during seven public hearings at the Board of Trustees meetings.

The map will be presented to the Los Angeles County Committee on School District Organization for final approval in the coming months.

“We want to thank our entire school community for participating in this process, making your voices heard and helping to support Whittier Union’s inclusive and transparent culture,” Superintendent Martin Plourde said. “While it is a new day for Whittier Union, we remain committed to fostering diversity and ensuring that every Board of Trustees action is based on what is best for the students and families throughout this community.”

The NDC Green Map creates trustee voting areas that follow major transportation links and roads while balancing Board criteria. Each trustee voting area will encompass portions of at least two high school attendance areas.

Trustee Area 1 includes all areas north of the city of Whittier, along with much of West Whittier.

Trustee Area 2 includes most of central Whittier, bounded by major roads such as Painter Avenue, Whittier Boulevard and Mills Avenue.

Trustee Area 3 includes the west and southwestern portions of the District, including the Los Nietos neighborhood, and portions of Downey and part of Norwalk.

Trustee Area 4 includes the areas on the eastern end of the District, including the area north of Whittier Boulevard and east of Greenleaf Avenue, as well as a portion of La Mirada.

Trustee Area 5 includes the southern end of the District, including parts of Norwalk and Santa Fe Springs south of Telegraph and Mills avenues.

The California High School attendance area falls under Trustee Areas 2, 4 and 5; La Serna High School falls under Areas 4 and 5; Pioneer High School falls under Areas 1, 2, 3 and 5; Santa Fe High School falls under Areas 3 and 5; and Whittier High School falls under Areas 1, 2 and 4.

The first election under the by-trustee area voting model will take place in 2020 beginning with Areas 2 and 3. Areas 1, 4 and 5 will be up for election in 2022.

Residents will vote for a single Board of Trustees candidate residing in their newly drawn trustee area.

The District formation process began in October 2018 and was led by a demographer and legal team to ensure maps met legal and regulatory criteria and a community outreach firm to ensure the process was inclusive and transparent. The process included six community open houses in November and December, seven public hearings and 10 one-on-one meetings with the demographer, as well as three community stakeholder group presentations.

For more information on the district formation process, visit www.elections.wuhsd.org.