Whittier, California – Río Hondo College Board of Trustees members held its annual organization and election of board officers on Dec. 13, as the Board continues to uphold the vision, mission and values of Río Hondo College.

The Board elected Anais Medina Diaz as the new president. Oscar Valladares was selected to serve as vice president and Rosaelva Lomeli will step into the clerk position.

Kristal Orozco was presented with a thank you gift for her leadership and service as Board president in 2023 and will continue to serve as a Board member alongside Vicky Santana.

“Río Hondo College remains in good hands, and I want to thank all five Board members for their continued leadership,” Superintendent/President Dr. Marilyn Flores said. “I look forward to working with everyone in their new positions as we continue our work in advancing Río Hondo College’s mission to serve as an educational and community partner committed to advancing social justice, equity and anti-racism.”

Diaz, who was first elected to Río Hondo College’s Board in 2021, is embarking on her first year as president after holding the position of vice president in 2023. The former Río Hondo College student serves Trustee Area 1, which includes the City of El Monte.

Valladares transitioned to the role of vice president from his previous position as board clerk in 2023. A board member since 2018, Valladares represents Trustee Area 5 of East Whittier. Lomeli has also served on Río Hondo College’s Board since 2018 and represents Trustee Area 3, which includes Whittier and South El Monte.

Orozco has served on the board since 2020 and was elected over Trustee Area 4 of Los Nietos, Santa Fe Springs, South Whittier and North Norwalk. Santana, who has sat on the board since 2011, represents Trustee Area 2 of Pico Rivera and West Whittier.


BOARD1: From left to right: Río Hondo College Board of Trustees Vice President Oscar Valladares, Student Trustee Alexandra Zuniga, Board Member Kristal Orozco, President Anais Medina Diaz, Board Clerk Rosaelva Lomeli and Superintendent/President Dr. Marilyn Flores.