

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

May 22, 2018

CONTACT: Lauren Creiman

Maritza Fairfield (909) 833-9853

Six San Gabriel Unified Schools Named to California Honor Roll

SAN GABRIEL, CA – Six San Gabriel Unified schools were named to the 2017-18 California Honor Roll for narrowing the achievement gap, improving academic performance and producing strong results on state standardized tests.

The honor is given by the Educational Results Partnership (ERP) and sponsored by the Campaign for Business and Education Excellence (CBEE), based on results of state standardized tests in math and English language arts (ELA) taken in spring 2017.

Coolidge Elementary, McKinley Elementary, Washington Elementary, Wilson Elementary, Jefferson Middle and Gabrielino High schools were honored as Star Schools, a category for high-performing schools with substantial populations of socioeconomically disadvantaged students.

"San Gabriel Unified strives to provide outstanding academic support to students of all backgrounds and to inspire opportunities for growth every year," SGUSD Superintendent Dr. John Pappalardo said. "We are proud to receive Honor Roll designations for six of our schools."

Each San Gabriel Unified elementary school improved its performance in math over 2016, with 60 percent of students from both Coolidge and Wilson elementary schools meeting or exceeding expectations. At Gabrielino High, 62 percent of students met or exceeded expectations in math, maintaining its progress from 2016.

San Gabriel Unified's six schools are among 1,798 public schools in California to be recognized. Each school will receive a banner and be recognized online as a model for other schools.

The Honor Roll is created by ERP, which analyzes 12 measures taken from California Department of Education data, including performance on state math, English language arts and science standardized tests. ERP looks at equity among students with differing ethnic backgrounds and socioeconomic statuses.

###

GOVERNING BOARD

CRISTINA ALVARADO PRESIDENT

ANDREW L. AMMON BOARD MEMBER CHERYL A. SHELLHART VICE PRESIDENT

DR. GARY THOMAS SCOTT
BOARD MEMBER

KEN K. TCHENG

DR. JOHN W. PAPPALARDOSUPERINTENDENT