Credited with inspiring and encouraging students and teachers alike, Nuffer Elementary School kindergarten teacher Denise Daguimol was honored as the Teacher of the Year at Norwalk-La Mirada Unified School District’s 2016 Star Awards on May 10 at Excelsior High School.

“I am honored and very proud to represent the teachers in the District, who I consider my family,” Daguimol said. “I enjoy working with them. They inspire me.”

Daguimol came to Nuffer in 2006, after 10 years at Edmondson Elementary. She is a graduate of South Gate High School, received a Bachelor of Arts in history from Cal State Fullerton, her teaching credential from UCLA and a Master of Education from Concordia University.

Nuffer Elementary principal Mak Sar was not surprised Daguimol was selected for the top honor.

“She works so well with the students and staff,” Sar said. “I am very happy for her. She is a wonderful person and a great teacher.”

Daguimol was honored at the annual ceremony, which recognizes dedicated teachers, classified employees and administrators for their commitment to the District. Teachers and classified employees nominated by their peers at each school site were also recognized.

“Great educators make a difference in the lives of their students, positive changes that reverberate over the course of a lifetime,” NLMUSD Superintendent Dr. Hasmik Danielian said. “Thank you for all the magnificent work you do. You are second to none.”

Norwalk-La Mirada Unified Star Award recipients:

  • District Administrator of the Year: Student and Family Services Director Christopher Moton
  • Site Administrator of the Year: Norwalk High School Principal Dr. Ryan Smith
  • Confidential/Classified Manager of the Year: Technology Services Director Tim Scholefield
  • Classified Employee of the Year: District Translator Judith Banuelos Cabral
  • Wellness Star Award: John Glenn High School SDC Teacher Saxty Soto

“Norwalk-La Mirada’s Star Awards do more than confer commendations for excellence, they are an opportunity for our hard-working employees to celebrate their achievements with their friends and family,” NLMUSD Board President Karen Morrison said. “They honor us with their dedication and commitment. Congratulations to all of our Star Award recipients.”

The District also recognized close to 100 employees for their years of service. Glazier Elementary School third-grade teacher Martha W. Treadway received a Star Award for her 45 years at the District, along with those who have reached 25-, 30-, 35- and 40-year milestones.

2016 Years of Service Honorees:

45 Years: Martha W. Treadway

40 Years: Amy S. Takata

35 Years: Susan Allen, Martin F. Carapia, Marcela Cueto-Sanchez, Sandra L. Drake, Victoria Gustafson, Mary B. Lubliner, Maria Orozco

30 Years: Susan D. Alperin, Janet Belo, Linda Burch, Yvette V. Cantu, John K. Clausson, Patricia Cortez, Mitchell Crist, Esther Dominguez, Daren Estes, Frank S. Farone, Sheila Filzen, Michael A. Flores, Rebecca Frieson, Albert D. Gonse Jr., Maria Gonzalez, Susan Harpole, Pamela A. Heckathorn-Hale, Kathryn L. Hoffman, Bonita L. James, Ana V. Kapamjian, Lori Knight, John Kolias, Josephine M. Lai, Nona D. Louthan, Annette Manolios, Kenneth Mardis, Raymond R. Portillo, Luis E. Ramirez, Nancy Rhodes, Maria Rodriguez, Brenda A. Rodriquez, Lourdes M. Ruvalcaba, Irma M. Saenz, Sharon Sampson-Thomas, Karen K. Slater, Jerry Stein, June L. Swinney, Pamelia Trimble, Debra K. Verkaik, Laurie Zupan-Smilowitz.

25 Years: Magdalena Alonzo, Lillian Amezquita, Tracy A. Bassaj, Thomas Black Jr., Elizabeth Briceno, Myriam Burks, Rafael Campos, Barbara Caudillo, Vicki Coley, Debra Curtin, Beverly Duffee, Anna Marie Endara, Sendy Engstrum, Lori Erbeznik, Margarita Fernandez, Catherine Fisher, Stephen Freck, Raul Garcia, Terrie R. Gilliland Velez, Kathy Gonzalez, Juliet D. Griffith, Emily Gutierrez-McDonald, Deborah K. Henderson, Jerry Koppe, Diana Maier, Janeece Mann, Norberta Martinez, Robert E. McGuire, Daniel Meyers, Laura Navarette, Raymond Niemann, Mary L. Pobojeski, Regina Podany, Maria C. Rivera, Vickie L. Roberts, Maria E. Sambrano, Guadalupe Sanchez, Tomas Santana, Patricia Severns, Sharon R. Todd, Connie Udabe, Rosa Valenzuela, Patricia Varela, Paula Wiechert.


NLMUSD_STARAWARDS1: Nuffer Elementary School kindergarten teacher Denise Daguimol was named Teacher of the Year at Norwalk-La Mirada Unified School District’s Star Awards on May 10. Daguimol, who has been with the District for 20 years, was honored along with the top district administrator, site administrator, confidential/classified manager, and classified employee.

NLMUSD_STARAWARDS2: Glazier Elementary School third-grade teacher Martha W. Treadway (bottom row, left) received a Star Award for her 45 years of service at the District, along with close to 100 employees who reached 25-, 30-, 35- and 40-year milestones at Norwalk-La Mirada during the District’s 2016 Star Awards on May 10.